16 July 2019

Cynan Jones

Cynan Jones, author
by admin

Cynan Jones is the author of five novels, published in over 20 countries. He has won the Wales Book of the Year Fiction Prize, a Betty Trask Award, the Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Award, and the BBC National Short Story Award, for which he is on the 2019 judging panel. His short stories have appeared in a variety of anthologies and in journals and magazines including Granta and The New Yorker.  He has also written a screenplay for the hit crime drama Hinterland, a collection of tales for children, and stories for BBC Radio. His latest work, Stillicide, is a collection of twelve short stories commissioned by Radio 4 and published by Granta in October 2019. Cynan is the RLF Writing Fellow at Aberystwyth University, and a recently elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. He has worked extensively with schools and writing groups, and tutored on short fiction for the Arvon Foundation and Literature Wales.

back to Blog

Our Courses


Write to the End of Your Novel

18 Sep – 30 Oct